Science

Science Card IconScienceTop of Page

  • Buchan (b.buchan@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Dineley (g.dineley@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Hepperle (m.hepperle@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Madunich (j.madunich@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Pogan (m.pogan@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Reedy (a.reedy@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Sandoval (c.sandoval@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Wade (j.wade@bonita.k12.ca.us)

Science 6This course will encompass Earth, Life, and Physical Science.  Topics that we will be covering are the Scientific Method, Levels of Organization, Atoms, Molecules, Organelles, Cells, Organs, Organ Systems, Organisms (animals and plants), Matter, Heat, Energy Conservation, Earth’s Atmosphere, The Water Cycle, Weather, Climate, Ecosystems, Biomes, Genetics, Human Anatomy, Human Impacts on Earth, and incorporating engineering projects throughout the school year.  

Science 7 – This course will focus on how natural processes and human activities shape Earth’s web of life.  During this school year, students will build their knowledge of living as well as non-living factors in all ecosystems. Scale, proportion, and quantity ranging from the subatomic level to planetary processes will be explained in a cohesive integrated model.  Students will also view their learning through the lens of their own impact on Earth’s fragile systems. Also, students will be encouraged to increase their abilities to act and think like scientists by engaging in arguments based on evidence, utilizing models to explain concepts, and design investigations to reach logical conclusions.  All approaches will be built on the foundations of learning students encountered during 6th grade.

Science 8 – This course will emphasize the overarching themes of stability and change through the concepts of earth, space, and physical science. Additionally, the application of physics concepts: forces, energy and motion throughout these same topics. Throughout the content based learning students will also participate in engineering practices and analyze human impact in each concept. Units include: introduction to physical science, physics, chemistry, and astronomy. Each unit will include direct instruction, lab reports, and collaborative learning.