Social Science

  • Duran (s.duran@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Goss (e.goss@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Hageman (h.hageman@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Markese (j.markese@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Oliver (d.oliver@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Olney (b.olney@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Tolan (h.tolan@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Weismair (k.weismair@bonita.k12.ca.us)
  • Zeuli (a.zeuli@bonita.k12.ca.us)
 

History 6 – This course is the study of people and events that ushered in the dawn of major western civilizations and non-Western civilizations.  The course will examine the GRAPES of ancient civilizations: Geography, Religion, Achievements, Politics, Economics, and Social Structures.  The course will analyze the common themes throughout the ancient world and connect the achievements of the ancient world with the modern world.  The focus of the course is to incorporate communication, collaboration, creativity, and critical thinking.

History 7 – The medieval and early modern periods (500-1789 C.E.) provide students with opportunities to study the rise and fall of empires, the diffusion of religions and languages, and significant movements of people, ideas, and products as the regions of the world became more and more interconnected. Although societies were quite distinct from each other, students will study larger world geographical, historical, economic, and civic patterns/themes that are apparent in every civilization. Students approach history not only as a body of content (such as events, people, ideas, etc.) to be encountered or mastered, but as an investigative discipline. They will analyze evidence from written and visual primary sources, supplemented by secondary sources, to form historical interpretations. Both in writing and speaking, they will cite evidence from textual sources to support their arguments.

History 8 – This course is an exploration into the creation and growth of America, with an emphasis on the territorial, political, economic and foreign relations growth of America.  This journey will begin from the British colonies and the Revolutionary War. Students will also examine the Constitution and the debates over the creation of a new Republic.  The class will continue to examine the growth of the country from Westward Expansion and the causes of the Civil War through the Reconstruction that followed the bloody war.